Limerick, Ireland

Platform Commissions

Artist Proposal Submissions
We now welcome Platform Commission proposals for the 41st EVA International programme, which will be selected by Iarlaith Ní Fheorais and Roy Claire Potter. Selected proposals will be offered support for the realisation and presentation of new work as part of the upcoming biennial programme (August – October 2025), taking place across sites and spaces in Limerick. Although EVA’s programme is typically presented as an exhibition, we are actively encouraging proposals that go beyond the usual parameters of venue-based exhibition presentation. Platform Commissions is an initiative to support the production of significant new works by artists based in Ireland.

** Deadline for submissions, Monday 8th April 2024, 17:00 GMT **

Thematic Guidelines
The selection panel has drafted the following statement as a guide to applicants:

‘Access in the arts is commonly understood as the inclusion of (and the reduction of barriers for) disabled, neurodivergent, d/Deaf, Mad and chronically ill people in the making and presentation of artworks.

The Platform Commissions for the 41st EVA International seeks to commission projects that build on this definition, framing access as a method of creating alternate forms of sociality, or convivial ways of being together.

We encourage applicants to look beyond the exhibitionary form when responding to this framework, and we welcome proposals that imagine interventions, events, gatherings, publications and performances — in material, corporeal and digital forms — or anything else that, as yet, we cannot imagine.’

– Iarlaith Ní Fheorais and Roy Claire Potter

Downloadable links to Application Form & Guidelines
Application Form (Editable PDF download)
Guidelines & FAQs (PDF download)
Large print and audio versions available. Please email to request these.

Online Workshop
Please contact to access a copy of the online submission workshop video.

Biographies of the Selection Panel
Iarlaith Ní Fheorais is a curator and writer and the author of the free online resource Access Toolkit for Artworkers. She was the curator of 21st edition of TULCA Festival of Visual Arts and curated Speech Sounds as Curator-in-Residence of VISUAL Carlow. As a writer she has written for publications including Frieze, Burlington Contemporary, Viscose Journal and Girls Like Us. She regularly contributes towards public programmes and lectures including at Somerset House, KW Institute, Konstfack University, Royal College of Art and Arts and Disability Ireland.

Roy Claire Potter is an artist writer who performs. Recent works are commissioned for Book Works (2024), BEK (2024), PRIMARY (2023), Counterflows and Cafe OTO (2022) and Reduced Listening for BBC Radio 3 (2020). Essays on artworks and autistic modes of being are published by MOSTYN, Llandudno (2021), Double Negative (2022) and Fingal County Council (2023) as part of artist Sarah Browne’s edited collection Echo’s Bones: a parallel play. Roy is a Senior Lecturer in Fine Art at Liverpool John Moores University, and they are represented by A plus A gallery, Venice.

About Platform Commissions
Platform Commissions is an initiative to support the production of significant new works by artists based in Ireland. It invites the submission of proposals from eligible artists for new artworks and projects through a simple and supported process. Selected proposals are offered financial and production support for the realisation and presentation of the new work as part of the upcoming biennial programme.

Previous Platform Commissions include Sarah Durcan, Phillip McCrilly, Sharon Phelan, Frank Sweeney, Cliodhna Timoney, and Amna Walayat, selected by artist Emily Jacir, and writer, curator and art historian Pádraic E. Moore, for the 40th EVA International (2023); and Laura Fitzgerald, Áine McBride, Emily McFarland, and Eimear Walshe, selected by Merve Elveren and Anne Tallentire, for the 39th EVA International (2020/21)



Back to Home